Unstruck chakra

In Sanskrit the fourth chakra, or heart chakra, is called the Anahata chakra.  Anahata translates as “unstruck” and sometimes “unhurt” and I’ve been wondering for some time why it was named this.  I’ve found a couple of interesting explanations.  The first is that somewhere beneath each of our individual stories, which often include some sort of pain and hurt to our heart, there is a wholeness comprised of unconditional love and compassion which is “unhurt” and just buried waiting to be found.  The second explanation is that the Anahata chakra is positioned at the place in our body which is responsible for producing the sound of our own vibrations.  This sound is produced without anything being struck.  And the sound, of course, is the sound of our beating heart.


3 thoughts on “Unstruck chakra

  1. I am a trance channel for a Seraphim Angel by the name of Saron. I channel in public weekly on Thursdays at the Ganesha Center in Las Vegas, NV. The main purpose of the being I channel is to put people on or to keep people on the pathway to ascension or enlightenment.
    I love your blog!
    Thank you for doing what you do!!.
    my blog can be found at:

    Erik Sudberg


  2. Another meaning of “unstruck” would be the sound created by the flowing of air, as in a flute, since anahata corresponds to the air element.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s