Knitting as Meditation

As I sat here knitting last night, I noticed my breathing begin to slow and deepen, as my mind gave its complete attention to the repetitive sound and motion of knit, purl, knit, purl, knit, purl, knit, purl.

knit-869221_1280

I eventually felt my body begin to relax  as my mind focused on this one task.  Because of the focus that I need in order to knit without making a mistake, my mind began to quieten and give its full attention to the task at hand.  And then it came to me – I was using knitting as a form of meditation.

6 Magnificent Meditation Illustrations - Album on Imgur:

I’d never really thought about it, but I’m sure there are numerous creative things that have the same meditative effect on us, and maybe this is one of the reasons that we enjoy, and sometimes even crave, them so much as a break away from our other daily tasks. Is there something creative that you do that brings you to the point of meditation?

The librarian in me couldn’t help but do some research to see if there were any books out there on this topic, and I was pleasantly surprised.  These are a few that I found that look interesting:

Mindful Knitting: Inviting Contemplative Practice to the Craft

The Knitting Sutra: Craft as a Spiritual Practice

The Knitting Way: A Guide to Spiritual Self Discovery

2 thoughts on “Knitting as Meditation

Leave a Comment

